Electronic schematics?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
bobself
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:28 pm

Electronic schematics?

Post by bobself » Wed Jul 22, 2015 1:50 pm

I saw that there is a library of electronic symbols. Does that mean you can create electronic schematics with QCAD? If so, is there any post processing of the schematic available?

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5441
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by andrew » Wed Jul 22, 2015 2:39 pm

bobself wrote:Does that mean you can create electronic schematics with QCAD?
QCAD is a generic CAD, you can draw anything that can be drawn using lines, arcs, circles, etc.
If so, is there any post processing of the schematic available?
No.

wfsommer
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:50 am

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by wfsommer » Wed May 23, 2018 4:05 am

I have Mac mini with OS 10.3.2.
Using QCAD Trial version 3.20.1

Want to buy QCAD but the Library Browser only brings up a few "default" items. No electronic symbols.

How do I get to the electronic symbols in my parts file?

Thanks,

Bill

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2009
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by Husky » Wed May 23, 2018 5:26 am

Hi Bill - welcome to the QCAD Forum
wfsommer wrote:How do I get to the electronic symbols in my parts file?
You can download (for free) a bunch of Library parts diretly from the QCAD Website

https://www.qcad.org/en/qcad-add-ons

or search the internet for additional dxf symbols. Save them then below the QCAD subfolder "libraries".
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5441
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by andrew » Wed May 23, 2018 8:31 am

Please refer also to the part library tutorial at:
https://qcad.org/en/tutorial-working-wi ... rt-library

wfsommer
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:50 am

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by wfsommer » Wed May 23, 2018 6:10 pm

I downloaded the Electronics folder and unzipped it.

I have a Mac and your instructions as to telling QCAD where the folder is located is for a Windows PC

To tell QCAD where to look for this library of CAD files, add this path under
Edit > Application Preferences > Widgets > Library Browser > Library Sources > Add

Where do I put the folder for QCAD to find it on a Mac?

Thanks,

Bill

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5441
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by andrew » Wed May 23, 2018 6:19 pm

wfsommer wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 6:10 pm
I have a Mac and your instructions as to telling QCAD where the folder is located is for a Windows PC
The instructions are for any operating system but were actually made on a Mac (as you can see if you closely look at the screenshots).
wfsommer wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 6:10 pm
Where do I put the folder for QCAD to find it on a Mac?
Anywhere you like. Perhaps in a "data" folder in your home folder:
/Users/yourname/data/libraries

wfsommer
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:50 am

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by wfsommer » Thu May 24, 2018 1:39 am

I found where the default and templates folders were in the QCAD program. I put the Electronics folder in Both of these folders along with the misc. folders already there. The original folders and data are still there when I look at the Library Browser but Not the Electronics folder in either Default or Templates.

What magic do I have to do to get the Electronics to appear?

Thanks,

Bill

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2009
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by Husky » Thu May 24, 2018 6:15 am

wfsommer wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 1:39 am
I put the Electronics folder in Both of these folders along with the misc. folders already there.
One folder would be enough. :wink:
wfsommer wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 1:39 am
What magic do I have to do to get the Electronics to appear?
Did you update the Library Browser? If not click the update button and tell us if that solves the issue.

Husky-2018.05.23-04.png
Husky-2018.05.23-04.png (31.68 KiB) Viewed 669 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5441
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by andrew » Thu May 24, 2018 8:44 am

wfsommer wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 1:39 am
I found where the default and templates folders were in the QCAD program. I put the Electronics folder in Both of these folders along with the misc.
This is not the recommended way. If you update QCAD, you will have to do it all over again... If you change your library, you might even lose those changes if you are not careful.

Again, you can put the files wherever you want and simply tell QCAD where to find them in the preferences.

Manually syncing the library browser with the file system (as Husky pointed out) is necessary if automatic synchronisation is switched off (Edit > Application Preferences > Widgets > Library Browser > Update search index on startup)

wfsommer
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:50 am

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by wfsommer » Mon May 28, 2018 10:49 pm

I'm sorry to keep bothering you guys. I appreciate your patience. I had updated via the lower right corner as you suggested to no avail.

Can you show me EXACTLY what the entry in my Preferences file on my Mac should be to make the electronics folder appear in my Library Browser.

You make it sound so simple to do and yet nothing works.

Thanks,

Bill

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2009
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by Husky » Tue May 29, 2018 1:48 am

wfsommer wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 10:49 pm
You make it sound so simple to do and yet nothing works.
Not an insurmountable obstacle. :wink:

wfsommer wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 10:49 pm
Can you show me EXACTLY what the entry in my Preferences file on my Mac should be to make the electronics folder appear in my Library Browser.
No - because I'm on Windows .... :shock:

Howsoever - please doublecheck following settings.
Below Menu / Edit / Application Preferences / Widgets / Library Browser is the possibility given to add additional Library location to QCAD. Please add your Electronic directory to that list.

After updating the DB the items should be available within the Library Browser.
Attachments
Husky-2018.05.28-02.png
Husky-2018.05.28-02.png (118.26 KiB) Viewed 622 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

wfsommer
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:50 am

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by wfsommer » Tue May 29, 2018 3:53 am

Husly,

Believe it or not I Finally got the electronics file where it belongs. Even finally got it to Stay in the file after rebooting.

Now just have to learn how to use the symbols to draw a schematic.

BTW, I bought QCAD, now that I have the symbols file.

Are there any manuals or instructions Specifically for drawing schematics with QCAD?

Thanks for all your work.

Bill

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2009
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Electronic schematics?

Post by Husky » Tue May 29, 2018 5:25 am

wfsommer wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 3:53 am
Believe it or not I Finally got the electronics file where it belongs. Even finally got it to Stay in the file after rebooting.
Glad to hear that!
wfsommer wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 3:53 am
Now just have to learn how to use the symbols to draw a schematic.

Are there any manuals or instructions Specifically for drawing schematics with QCAD?
I don't know of any instruction for drawing schematics but I think your best shot is to get familiar with the Library Browser option bar. It will help you to rotate, scale and flip the item during the inserting task.

Husky-2018.05.28-03.png
Husky-2018.05.28-03.png (46.14 KiB) Viewed 605 times

wfsommer wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 3:53 am
Thanks for all your work.
You're welcome!
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”