From cad to cam to machine

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
iMac1943
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 7:56 am

From cad to cam to machine

Post by iMac1943 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:07 am

Can one go from QCAD to a CAM program (any suggestion for Mac?) and finaly to the computer on a cnc router?
Your advice please.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5550
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: From cad to cam to machine

Post by andrew » Mon Feb 15, 2016 10:53 am

Yes, that is how CAM typically works. The whole process depends a lot on your specific needs, but a typical use case would be:
- Create CAD drawing using CAD (output: DXF file).
- Generate program for computer controlled machine from CAD drawing (output: typically G-Code or similar).
- Load program into machine and process work piece.

iMac1943
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 7:56 am

Re: From cad to cam to machine

Post by iMac1943 » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:01 pm

Thank you Andrew, I started an other question here:
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=3991&p=14522#p14522
Can you see there what the question is and what the reply?

Regards,
Luc

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”