Explode line style to separate entities

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
dimamix
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:45 am

Explode line style to separate entities

Post by dimamix » Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:50 am

Hi.
Is there a way to explode or drop a line style to Individual entities. Example I have a line style gas line which is a line segment and the word gas and a line segment . I want to explode it to be separate objects.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5604
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Explode line style to separate entities

Post by andrew » Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:59 am

Hi dimamix. I'm afraid you cannot explode dashed lines into line segments. If you could provide more information on what you are trying to achieve, there might be other solutions. Thanks.

dimamix
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:45 am

Re: Explode line style to separate entities

Post by dimamix » Mon Aug 01, 2016 12:25 pm

I need to display a map with complex line styles in DXF format in QGIS.
In QGIS line styles are lost when displayed the DXF.
Create QGIS linestyle library - inpossible, beacose on different maps linestyles are different names.

paulr
Registered Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:52 pm

Re: Explode line style to separate entities

Post by paulr » Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:56 pm

Hi, I'd like to resurrect this old thread because I'd like to achieve the same thing; this time because I want to export to a laser cutter that doesn't interpret line styles. Is there any recommended way to achieve this?

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5604
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Explode line style to separate entities

Post by andrew » Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:00 pm

No, there is no simple way to do this.

I've added a feature request at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... &project=1

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”