Delete or detect overlapping line segment

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
aland
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:39 pm

Delete or detect overlapping line segment

Post by aland » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:41 pm

Is there a way to detect or delete a line segment which exactly overlaps with a longer line
Thanks
Alan

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Delete or detect overlapping line segment

Post by Husky » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:48 pm

Yes,

press and hold on your Keyboard the "alt" key and click with the left mouse button on the suspect entity.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

aland
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Delete or detect overlapping line segment

Post by aland » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:06 pm

Ok thanks that seems to work -- but is there a way to do it on a selection of many lines without having to click on each one

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Delete or detect overlapping line segment

Post by Husky » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:21 pm

No.

The question is what is your goal? In the case that you are just looking for identical stacked entities then you could use "Detect duplicates" ...
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

aland
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Delete or detect overlapping line segment

Post by aland » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:28 pm

Detect duplicates only detects if the the 2 lines are exactly the same but I need to check a lot of lines that might partially overlap becuse of diferent lenghts etc.
hope that makes sense thanks for help

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Delete or detect overlapping line segment

Post by Husky » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:50 pm

Sounds like work ....

Maybe the "Selection Filter" is able to help you with this task.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

abercet
Registered Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:24 pm

Re: Delete or detect overlapping line segment

Post by abercet » Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:30 pm

Hello
we need this toll to detect overlap segment.
it's crucial for dwg laser cutting.
This toll exist on laser drawing software.
Pleas make us a widgets quickly.

best regards

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5335
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Delete or detect overlapping line segment

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:34 pm


Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”