Modify simple polyline rectangles

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Andreas_FI

Modify simple polyline rectangles

Post by Andreas_FI » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:52 am

Hi,

I am new to QCAD (and CAD drawing). Trying to figure out the easiest and smartest way to change the size of a simple rectangle polyline.

In my previous drawing experience I could modify hight and width of any polyline in the inspector. However in QCAD "Property Editor" changes are not possible. I found a scale tool, but there it is not possible to insert exact hight/width.

Of course I could always delete and draw a new rectangle polyline using the "rectangle with size" function, but I believe there is a better, more smarter way to do this. Please help and advice on the basic principles/workflows to modify a simple rectangle polyline in hight and width.

Thanks!

Andreas

Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing

Re: Modify simple polyline rectangles

Post by Husky » Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:34 am

Hallo Andreas,

it sounds like a simple question - but it isn't. :wink:
Andreas_FI wrote:In my previous drawing experience I could modify hight and width of any polyline in the inspector. However in QCAD "Property Editor" changes are not possible
Yes and no. QCAD follows a different strategy regarding to the procedure in an inspector. But you can use the Property Editor to modify entities ... except the length and hight of a polygon rectangle ...
Andreas_FI wrote:Of course I could always delete and draw a new rectangle polyline using the "rectangle with size" function, but I believe there is a better, more smarter way to do this. Please help and advice on the basic principles/workflows to modify a simple rectangle polyline in hight and width.
Yes, there are situation in which it makes sense just to draw a new rectangle.