[solved] Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
loa
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:55 pm

[solved] Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by loa » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:53 pm

Hi!

I decided to upgrade my old 3.15.2 (free) to latest version. It is MacOS 64-bit version for latest OS X 10.13.3 (17D102).

I was needed to print some project or more exactly export the image as jpeg. Previous version (13.5.2) has strange bug with pdf export. The document exported can not be viewed by standard macos viewer. It shows just empty page. Preview in Finder or FoxIt reader show normal page. It is old bug but I solved this issue using Print command and choose Print as jpeg. It is standard system print command.

I opened Print Preview as usual and tried to print. Noway. There are dozens of warnings that current printer settings are not compatible with something in QCAD. When I press OK there is next dialog. And it is not possible to cancel this loop. Only by System monitor and close program from it.
screen 2018-03-13 в 19.51.32.png
screen 2018-03-13 в 19.51.32.png (297.62 KiB) Viewed 684 times
I also tried save project as bitmap by proper command from menu File. It makes zero sized jpeg. If I choose pdf format there is very small pdf with poor resolution (and the same problem with macos viewer).

In fact I now can not do anything with my project and even worse that even have no 3.15.2 to return to it.

ps: Decided to bye 3.19.2 instead of using free and limited but why should I pay for the program that does not work... :(

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2060
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by Husky » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:45 pm

Hi loa - welcome to the QCAD Forum.

That's sounds like a multi level issue - let take it step by step ...
loa wrote:
In fact I now can not do anything with my project and even worse that even have no 3.15.2 to return to it.
The screenshot shows a trial version. Do you own now a pro version and we are talking about the Pro? If yes - did you install it in a new/empty directory and doesn't mixed it with the old installation? Note: A QCAD installation/update belongs always in an empty directory.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5487
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by andrew » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:51 pm

Thanks for your report. Unfortunately, I cannot reproduce this problem here.

What exactly does the warning dialog say? Perhaps you can temporarily switch your system language to English, run QCAD and make a screenshot of the dialog in English?

Do you have any printer drivers installed on your system? If so, which ones (include screenshot of System Preferences > Printers & Scanners)?

As a workaround, you might also want to try to export to PDF instead: File > PDF Export. To get the desired result, please be sure to follow our step by step instructions for printing / PDF export at:
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=3317
I also tried save project as bitmap by proper command from menu File. It makes zero sized jpeg.
This would most likely indicate that you tried to create a huge bitmap that would have been several Gigabytes in size. If you can attach your drawing file and a screenshot of your bitmap export dialog, I can tell you more about this.

loa
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:55 pm

Re: Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by loa » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:55 pm

Husky wrote:The screenshot shows a trial version. Do you own now a pro version and we are talking about the Pro? If yes - did you install it in a new/empty directory and doesn't mixed it with the old installation? Note: A QCAD installation/update belongs always in an empty directory.
I've downloaded trial Pro (since it's not another one). Tried to remove Pro plugins but after it QCAD did not start and says that program file is broken.
So I reinstall trial again and tried just to print my project in trial Pro.

loa
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:55 pm

Re: Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by loa » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:02 pm

andrew wrote:Thanks for your report. Unfortunately, I cannot reproduce this problem here.

What exactly does the warning dialog say? Perhaps you can temporarily switch your system language to English, run QCAD and make a screenshot of the dialog in English?

Do you have any printer drivers installed on your system? If so, which ones (include screenshot of System Preferences > Printers & Scanners)
Here are just two examples of warning messages:
screen 2018-03-13 at 21.49.41.png
screen 2018-03-13 at 21.49.41.png (99.53 KiB) Viewed 673 times
screen 2018-03-13 at 21.49.59.png
screen 2018-03-13 at 21.49.59.png (99.15 KiB) Viewed 673 times
But there are a lot of them and it seems like endless loop.

I have quite usual printer/scanner installed. It worked with v.3.15.2 however I usually printed my projects to jpeg or pdf.
screen 2018-03-13 at 21.51.03.png
screen 2018-03-13 at 21.51.03.png (98.15 KiB) Viewed 673 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2060
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by Husky » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:37 pm

Your printer is set to process an A4 Paper sized print. What are the Paper settings in your QCAD drawing?
Husky-2018.03.13-04.png
Husky-2018.03.13-04.png (133.88 KiB) Viewed 667 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

loa
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:55 pm

Re: Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by loa » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:58 pm

Husky wrote:Your printer is set to process an A4 Paper sized print. What are the Paper settings in your QCAD drawing?
Yes, there was 'custom' paper size. I've changed it to ISO A4 and printing works normally. Many thanks!

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2060
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by Husky » Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:25 pm

You're welcome!
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5487
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by andrew » Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:49 am

Nice catch Husky! Seems to be a problem of Qt in connection with some printer drivers..

loa
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:55 pm

Re: Troubles with printing/export in QCAD 3.19.2

Post by loa » Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:22 pm

andrew wrote:Nice catch Husky! Seems to be a problem of Qt in connection with some printer drivers..
Maybe new version loaded data from existing project incorrectly? BTW when I drew it (last summer) there was another printer in my home office! Of course I do not know if a project file keeps some data of printer. Just an idea...

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”