Q-Cad Can't Open Drawings

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
jkohler85
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:06 pm

Q-Cad Can't Open Drawings

Post by jkohler85 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:01 pm

Hi all,

I have been using Q-Cad for a few years now and have a weird one.

Decided to repurchase the license today and now I cannot open my .DWGs, the program crashes without fail on most files.

It will still open 1-2 but many crash the program with out opening. Happening on PC and MAC.

Help?

Josh

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2101
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Q-Cad Can't Open Drawings

Post by Husky » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:46 pm

Hi Josh,

make sure the new downloaded package fits to your OS and the correct 32 / 64 bit system. A QCAD update is always a full version - don't mix it in the same folder with an old installation. Use always a new(?) empty folder for the update.

If you followed this simple rules and still have problems to open the drawings please attache (or PM) a trouble making drawing for further investigation. Thank you.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

jkohler85
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:06 pm

Re: Q-Cad Can't Open Drawings

Post by jkohler85 » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:00 pm

Hi,

Yeah I do not believe it is an OS issue.

It's a 7MB file so I can't attach it, maybe that is the problem?

Thanks!

Josh

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2101
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Q-Cad Can't Open Drawings

Post by Husky » Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:05 pm

Hi Josh,
jkohler85 wrote:It's a 7MB file so I can't attach it, maybe that is the problem?
That's huge - could be a Memory problem. If you are willing to send the drawing to my e-mail then I'll provide you my Address via PM.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”