QCAD hung up while scaling

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
User avatar
slyde
Full Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:37 am
Location: Turnip City, Texas

QCAD hung up while scaling

Post by slyde » Sun Dec 24, 2017 9:13 am

I haven't tried to reproduce this, but I sure short-circuited QCAD.

I was scaling down a block and accidentally entered two decimal points: .o.o5
The result was QCAD hanging up. I've tried clicking left and right, simultaneously clicking left and right, hitting ESC, DELETE, ESC & DELETE combo, but all I get is that crosshair that says "Grid" at it's center...the same one it shows when QCAD wants you to find a point on an entity before moving it. When I tried to scale it again, that's when I saw my last entry, having two decimal points in it. I was surprised that passed as a valid field entry.

Here's a screenshot and the file. Not sure if the file will show you anything, but it did allow me to save it. I just can't do any work to it until I restart QCAD.


Slyde
Screenshot from 2017-12-24 01-55-50.png
Screenshot from 2017-12-24 01-55-50.png (253.69 KiB) Viewed 1056 times
Attachments
abc.dxf
(209.76 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
Look! It's a bird. No! It's a plane! NO! It's QCAD hotkeys...faster than a possum falling out of a tree!!

OS: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia [64-bit]
QCAD Pro 3.19.2.0 [64-bit]

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2128
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: QCAD hung up while scaling

Post by Husky » Mon Dec 25, 2017 8:04 am

slyde wrote:I was surprised that passed as a valid field entry.
No warning like changing the black text into red text and posting a warning message?
Husky-2017.12.24-04.png
Husky-2017.12.24-04.png (19.16 KiB) Viewed 1037 times
slyde wrote:I've tried clicking left and right, simultaneously clicking left and right, hitting ESC, DELETE, ESC & DELETE combo, but all I get is that crosshair that says "Grid" at it's center...the same one it shows when QCAD wants you to find a point on an entity before moving it.
If you're again in a situation like this try the Reset / ldle tool
Husky-2017.12.25-07.png
Husky-2017.12.25-07.png (46.82 KiB) Viewed 1035 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
slyde
Full Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:37 am
Location: Turnip City, Texas

Re: QCAD hung up while scaling

Post by slyde » Mon Dec 25, 2017 9:01 pm

I wish I had gotten that error msg, Husky. Not sure why I didn't. I know Andrew has entries like this in try/catch blocks to make sure they're valid. It was just one of those quirky things, I guess. Seems like I get all the quirks life has to offer...like the lump of coal I got in my chimney-hung stocking last night :D

Thanks for the tip on the Reset. That's a nice feature.
Look! It's a bird. No! It's a plane! NO! It's QCAD hotkeys...faster than a possum falling out of a tree!!

OS: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia [64-bit]
QCAD Pro 3.19.2.0 [64-bit]

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”