enquiry how to measure X and Y coordinate. for object

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

sonic88
Registered Member

enquiry how to measure X and Y coordinate. for object

Post by sonic88 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:08 am

Hi all,
Need help on Qcad,
I have a file format DxF, which may draw by Autocad software or anysoftware.
now the problem is i'm new with Qcad, how to using Qcad to check a dimension / coordinate of the object, which draw using the other types of software such as autocad etc..
just for confirmation, it is any ways to check it out with qcad, and make sure when it open with Qcad still can get the original size of X,Y coordinate or the dimension, when the object is draw using by the other software.

Thanks .
your's help is much appreciated.
regards,
sonic

Clive

Re: enquiry how to measure X and Y coordinate. for object

Post by Clive » Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:17 pm

sonic88 wrote:Hi all,
Need help on Qcad,
now the problem is i'm new with Qcad, how to using Qcad to check a dimension / coordinate of the object, which draw using the other types of software such as autocad etc..
just for confirmation, it is any ways to check it out with qcad, and make sure when it open with Qcad still can get the original size of X,Y coordinate or the dimension, when the object is draw using by the other software.

Thanks .
regards,
sonic
Hi sonic and welcome

Presuming you have Drawn at scale 1:1 in the "other" software and saved as dxf.file and have successfully opened up in Qcad 2.2.

In QCAD

1.set the same dimension unit you need > Edit > Application Preferences > Default > Unit - Millimeter, Inch ..etc..
2.Open up your DXF file and > Menu >View > Tool bars and "check" property Editor -to view it (this should "dock" it in window).
3. Select an entity (object) e.g line in your drawing using the selection tools, from "left -hand" main tools or just click on it!