Q-cad settings for router vs. plasma?

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Indicate the post processor used.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

dmahaffymetalworks
Registered Member

Q-cad settings for router vs. plasma?

Post by dmahaffymetalworks » Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:02 pm

Hi,
I'm very new to this CNC world but I have recently purchased a CNC plaa table. Along with this table came a computer with q-cad loaded into it. I have just purchased the CAM license through q-cad and it hasn't made a difference for me yet. The issue that I am having is that when the g code is created via the cam export, it is creating a z-axis movement of 100. I believe this is because it is recognizing my tool as a router? I must be missing something in the settings, any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

THANKS!!

andrew
Site Admin

Re: Q-cad settings for router vs. plasma?

Post by andrew » Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:15 pm

QCAD/CAM does not attempt to recognize your machine or even know about its presence.

What QCAD/CAM does is to produce G-Code from a drawing geometry. The specifics of the G-Code that is generated are defined by the machine configuration chosen in the CAM export dialog. The available machine configurations are stored in script files located under scripts/Cam/CamConfigurations of your QCAD/CAM installation. It is very likely that a new configuration has to be made for your specific machine and needs.

If you can post a simple example of G-Code that is understood by your machine and controller, I can be more specific.

dmahaffymetalworks
Registered Member

Post by dmahaffymetalworks » Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:13 pm

Andrew,