[solved] rectangle cutting inside

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
cki61
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:43 pm

[solved] rectangle cutting inside

Post by cki61 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:58 pm

Hi Andrew,

I created 2 rectangles by new:shapemenue:rectangle, please see appended image.
I created a polyline out of both rectangles. The right one has an additional knot in the middle of the lower line.
Now I created a toolpath for both to cut at the inner side.
At the left rectangle has a cut into the material at the beginning and at the end of the cut. The right one is ok.
Can you give me a hint why the algorythm sees a difference between the rectangles?

Best regards,
Christof
Attachments
Screenshot_20180423_194108.png
Screenshot_20180423_194108.png (20.52 KiB) Viewed 878 times
Last edited by cki61 on Fri May 04, 2018 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: rectangle cutting inside

Post by andrew » Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:20 pm

QCAD/CAM starts the toolpath at the start point of the polyline. If this is a corner of an inside profile and a lead in/out is used, there is no possible toolpath without cutting into the workpiece (left side). To create a meaningful toolpath, the start point has to be chosen to be somewhere in the middle of a side for inside profiles (right).

Please refer also to the QCAD/CAM tutorial at:
https://qcad.org/doc/qcadcam/QCADCAM_Tutorial_en.pdf

cki61
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:43 pm

Re: rectangle cutting inside

Post by cki61 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:59 pm

thanks for your answer,

Best Regards,
Christof

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”