How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
massimo
Full Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:30 pm

How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by massimo » Thu Sep 16, 2021 7:30 am

Hi,

for positioning I enter the keyboard mode by <space>, then I have focus on the command line and can type @20;50<enter>

But how do I release the command line? According to the manuals <ESC> should leave the command line in order to enter new short commands like "mv" for move. But I can't leave the command line as long as the mouse pointer is inside the drawing area. As soon as the pointer leaves the drawing area, the command line is left. <ESC> is not detected at all and I can't see any option about that.


QCAD Community Edition on Linux

Version:
3.26.0.0 (3.26.0)
Internet:
QCAD.org
Erstellungsdatum:
Mar 9 2021
Revision:

Qt Version:
5.15.2
Architektur:
x86_64
Compiler:
gcc 10.2.0
Community Version 3.26.4.0 (3.26.4), Gentoo Linux on amd64

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1783
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by CVH » Thu Sep 16, 2021 7:58 am

massimo wrote:
Thu Sep 16, 2021 7:30 am
According to the manuals <ESC> should leave the command line in order to enter new short commands like "mv" for move.
First: MV requires a selection, escaping a drawing method usually leaves no selection. :wink:

e.g. Draw Line from 2 Points (LI) using the command line to enter 2 points.
The first escape leaves the command line ...

LI is still active and requires a next point.
The second escape is similar to the right mouse button = 'Done'
LI is still active and now requires a first point.
The third escape is again the right button = 'Cancel'

After canceling the LI method one can enter a valid shortcut e.g. TM (Trim Both)

One could also reset LI directly in the command line by QQ. :wink:

Regards,
CVH
Last edited by CVH on Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
massimo
Full Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:30 pm

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by massimo » Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:57 am

That does not work here.

I type "li", then <space> to enter the command line, then @100;100<enter> @200;200<enter>.
The line is there, but I can't leave the command line by pressing <ESC> multiple times. I need to move the mouse cursor out of the drawing first.

I would like to be able to work by keyboard only in some situations, like that:

I type "li", then <space> to enter the command line, then @100;100<enter> @200;200<enter><ESC><ESC>ci ... now drawing a circle.
Community Version 3.26.4.0 (3.26.4), Gentoo Linux on amd64

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1783
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by CVH » Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:08 am

massimo wrote:
Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:57 am
I type "li", then <space> to enter the command line, then @100;100<enter> @200;200<enter><ESC><ESC>ci ... now drawing a circle.
Have you tried: 'LI' .. <space> .. '@100;100' .. <enter> .. '@200;200' .. <enter> .. 'QQ' .. <enter> .. 'CI' .. <enter> ?

EDIT: <ESC> .. <ESC> .. <ESC> .. 'CI' works too :wink: (win7)

Regards,
CVH

User avatar
massimo
Full Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:30 pm

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by massimo » Thu Sep 16, 2021 12:28 pm

Both does not release the command line focus.
Community Version 3.26.4.0 (3.26.4), Gentoo Linux on amd64

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 4190
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by Husky » Fri Sep 17, 2021 12:05 am

massimo wrote:
Thu Sep 16, 2021 12:28 pm
Both does not release the command line focus.
For clarification:
You are using the ESC key on your Keyboard and you're not typing esc into the command line, correct?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
massimo
Full Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:30 pm

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by massimo » Sat Sep 18, 2021 7:53 am

Yes, with <ESC> I mean pressing the ESC button on the keyboard.
Community Version 3.26.4.0 (3.26.4), Gentoo Linux on amd64

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 4190
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by Husky » Sat Sep 18, 2021 11:44 pm

massimo wrote:
Sat Sep 18, 2021 7:53 am
Yes, with <ESC> I mean pressing the ESC button on the keyboard.
Thanks for clarification.

I'm on a Windows system and have no access to a Linux for testing. I'm assuming that QCAD acts on Linux identical like Windows and your request tested on Windows works just fine. This said there are only two option left. The Linux package works differently or you did one or more settings in QCAD which prevent the proper work of that shortcut. To eliminate one of the two option you need to reset QCAD what means ALL your personal settings in QCAD are gone. Please close QCAD and delete the files QCAD3.conf and library_3_0_0_9.db. Where to find them is explained in this tutorial:
https://qcad.org/en/tutorial-resetting- ... tion#Linux

Note: If you just like to test a reset of QCAD backup or rename the two mentioned files which then can be used later to reverse the reset.

Please keep us posted. Thanks.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
lphilpot
Senior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Deep South USA

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by lphilpot » Sat Dec 11, 2021 12:49 am

I know this is an older thread, but for what it's worth the behavior on my Xubuntu Linux system matches Windows exactly.
Len
----------------------------------------
QCAD Pro

User avatar
massimo
Full Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:30 pm

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by massimo » Wed Jan 26, 2022 7:36 am

massimo wrote:
Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:57 am
I type "li", then <space> to enter the command line, then @100;100<enter> @200;200<enter>.
The line is there, but I can't leave the command line by pressing <ESC> multiple times. I need to move the mouse cursor out of the drawing first.

I would like to be able to work by keyboard only in some situations, like that:

I type "li", then <space> to enter the command line, then @100;100<enter> @200;200<enter><ESC><ESC>ci ... now drawing a circle.
One information that might help and that also exists in Windows somewhere:
I'm using Xfce and have enabled Settings->Window Manager->Focus->Focus Model->[x] Focus follows mouse
That means I have focussed every window under the mouse pointer without clicking, which is the most reasonable setting for my work flow since many many years. You could do that on Windows as well, at least it was possible via regedit in Windows XP times.

That means for leaving the command line as said above, I need to move the pointer out of the drawing window to some of the tool or layer windows, then back to the drawing window. Then ESC button works and I can go on with the next command like "ci" for circle.
Community Version 3.26.4.0 (3.26.4), Gentoo Linux on amd64

jhonalbert
Registered Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 12:58 pm

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by jhonalbert » Thu Jan 27, 2022 1:22 pm

You can also use the shortcut key Alt + F4 to close a Command Prompt window.

User avatar
massimo
Full Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:30 pm

Re: How to leave the command line by keyboard?

Post by massimo » Thu Jan 27, 2022 4:01 pm

But I don't want to close any of the windows. I just can't leave the command line without a focus switch from the drawing area and back to that.
Community Version 3.26.4.0 (3.26.4), Gentoo Linux on amd64

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Community Edition”