dimension

Drop in here to discuss whatever you want.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

SMR
Newbie Member

dimension

Post by SMR » Thu May 11, 2023 12:20 am

QCAD Professional

Version:
3.28.1.0 (3.28.1)

Windows 11

I am a newbie doing something wrong. When I ask for dimension and click on a point it does not enter a position but starts a new shape.

Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing

Re: dimension

Post by Husky » Thu May 11, 2023 12:42 am

SMR wrote:
Thu May 11, 2023 12:20 am
When I ask for dimension and click on a point it does not enter a position but starts a new shape.
I assume you are trying to determine the dimensioning with the right mouse button. Use instead the left mouse button and it will work.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
Win10/64, QcadPro, QcadCam version: Current.
If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title..."

CVH
Premier Member

Post by CVH » Thu May 11, 2023 5:48 am

SMR wrote:
Thu May 11, 2023 12:20 am
When I ask for dimension and click on a point it does not enter a position but starts a new shape.
I think this is all intended behavior.
When you start drawing a new dimension entity and click the first point a preview appears of the dimension to create.
Have a closer look at the mouse icon in the Status Bar and the text beside it (usually bottom center of your screen).
The tool tips beside the mouse icon will guide you through the creation process.

For an Aligned Dimension (LA) the left mouse button tool tips are :
- First extension line origin
- Second extension line origin
- Dimension line location
And this cycles until the tool is closed.

The right mouse button tool tips swaps between:
- Back (one step back in the creation process)
- Cancel

Remark that this is for adding dimensions to your drawing.
Use the Info tools for indicative measuring.

Regards,
CVH