Export format from QCAD for AutoCAD

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

nick
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:12 pm

Export format from QCAD for AutoCAD

Postby nick » Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:45 am

I imported a 2D AutoCAD dxf file (v12) and added some layer information - its a drawing of an island with about 45 layers on it covering everything from Global Heritage information to buildings to services and utilities. I am now trying to export this file back to the client and whatever format I choose he is unable to read it either with his version of AutoCAD or AutoDesk and we had tried about 6 options on the export format. Can you pls assist.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 4634
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Export format from QCAD for AutoCAD

Postby andrew » Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:50 am

Files exported from QCAD 3 (please check your version of QCAD) should be readable by Autocad. If not, please attach or e-mail the drawing file for testing, thanks.

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1243
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Export format from QCAD for AutoCAD

Postby Clive » Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:56 am

Hi Nick
What I normally do when importing older files from AC is:
1. Import file.
2. Before I do anything I save file again in QCAD 3 as current version dxf/dwg.
3. Make addition's etc.
4. Save file and send to client.

nick
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:12 pm

Re: Export format from QCAD for AutoCAD

Postby nick » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:58 pm

Thanks Clive - seems I should have saved as a dwg/dxf format before I proceeded. I will send the examples to Andrew in response to his mail and for his to kindly test.

Many thanks
Nick

tirnasjimmy
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:44 pm

Re: Export format from QCAD for AutoCAD

Postby tirnasjimmy » Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:21 pm

Hi,
I have QCAD Professional Ver. 3.15.5 which I have used to prepare a .DXF file to send to a manufacturer. Unfortunately he cannot open it in Autocad 2007 and has requested I save it in a form compatible with that version of Autocad. Unfortunately there is no indication in the long list of "save as" version formats of QCAD as to which would be compatible with Autocad 2007.
Can someone please help?
Thanks

User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: Export format from QCAD for AutoCAD

Postby J-J » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:03 pm

Hello tirnasjimmy

I have been faced with a similar issue. Try "save as" 'yourfilename' and choose DXF or DWG R21 or earlier. That did the trick for me.
Good luck
JJ

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Export format from QCAD for AutoCAD

Postby Husky » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:18 pm

Hi tirnasjimmy - welcome to the forum,

tirnasjimmy wrote:... has requested I save it in a form compatible with that version of Autocad.


... I think the manufacturer shout be able to tell you exactly which format he is exactly asking for. However - just guessing around I think too R21 should work. If not go lower like R15 etc.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

tirnasjimmy
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:44 pm

Re: Export format from QCAD for AutoCAD

Postby tirnasjimmy » Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:55 pm

Thanks J-J and Husky. I'm off to try R21 or earlier if necessary. Will let everybody know what worked in the end.


Return to “QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest