Zum Inhalt springen

Resetting the QCAD Configuration

Dieser Inhalt ist noch nicht in deiner Sprache verfügbar.

If your configuration is somehow damaged and you cannot get it back to normal, you might want to reset QCAD to its default settings as they were when QCAD was first installed.

This will affect:

  • arrangement and visibility of toolbars and dockable widgets
  • arrangement and visibility of tools
  • user interface language
  • default settings for new drawings
  • etc.

Make sure that QCAD is closed before resetting the configuration.

Step 2: Deleting the QCAD Configuration File

Section titled “Step 2: Deleting the QCAD Configuration File”

Make sure that system files and system folders are displayed in Windows Explorer:

  • Open Windows Explorer (e.g. Start > All Programs > Accessories > Windows Explorer)
  • Windows XP: Tools > Folder Options > View > Show hidden files and folders
  • Windows Vista, 7, 8, 10: View > Options > Change folder and search options > View > Show hidden files, folders, and drives
  • Windows 11: Click the three dots in a Windows Explorer window at the top, then Options > View > Show hidden files, folders, and drives Enabling display of hidden files and folders in Windows Explorer

The file QCAD3.ini is located in (where “username” is your login name):

  • Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\QCAD\QCAD3.ini
  • Windows Vista, Windows 7, 8, 10: C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\QCAD\QCAD3.ini

Note that Windows Explorer might not show the file extension (.ini) but only “QCAD3”.

  • Delete or rename the file QCAD3.ini
  • To reset the library browser, delete also the file library_3_0_0_9.db
  • Start QCAD
  • Delete the file ~/.config/QCAD/QCAD3.conf
  • To reset the library browser, delete also the file ~/.config/QCAD/library_3_0_0_9.db
  • Start QCAD
  • Open Finder
  • Choose menu Go > Go to Folder…
  • enter ~/.config/QCAD
  • Click OK
  • Delete file QCAD3.ini
  • To reset the library browser, delete also the file library_3_0_0_9.db
  • Start QCAD